Open response to: “Would you say you’ve kept the Ten Commandments?”

Okay let’s go through them..

20 And God spake all these words, saying,

2 I am the Lord thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.

3 Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

(I have no other gods to have before any in particular. I have no belief in this god as I have never been shown good reason to. By necessity, I cannot break this commandment.)

4 Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.

5 Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

6 And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.

(I do not worship images)

7 Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

(I have no god of whom to take a name in vain. By necessity, again I cannot commit this sin.

8 Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

9 Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work:

10 But the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates:

11 For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the Lord blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

(Once more, keeping a day holy necessitates the belief that a day is sacred to a god or gods. Ergo, I cannot commit this sin.)

12 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.

(I have never consciously, willfully or to memory dishonored my mother nor my father. I am grateful to them for all they have imparted to me and take pains to show them.)

13 Thou shalt not kill.

(Given the amount of life people destroy necessarily through their continued existence I’m going to assume this means the act of willfully killing or having knowledge of having killed a human through action or inaction. To date I have not and do not intend to.)

14 Thou shalt not commit adultery.

(I never have, I have heard argument that someone who willfully calls up mental images depicting adultery is guilty of the act. I find this hard to fathom but must presume it to aid warding off undesirable thoughts lest they become actions.)

15 Thou shalt not steal.

(I draw parallel with the commandment re. killing. Never willfully nor to my knowledge.)

16 Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

(I can’t think of an easy way to just say no to this so I feel I should use crossreferencing to show I have never:
Failed to testify when I knew evidence -Leviticus 5:1
Served as a judge and witness in capital crime(s) -Deuteronomy 19:17
Accepted testimony from a lone witness -Deuteronomy 19:15 [which is part of the reasoning behind my worldview]
574. Testified as the transgressor -Exodus 23:1
Testified as a relative of the litigants -Deuteronomy 24:16
Testified falsely -Exodus 20:13
Punished the false witnesses as they tried to punish the defendant -Deuteronomy 19:19)

17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s

(Again I draw parallel with commandments re. killing and stealing.)

Well I think that’s all of them.
How did I do?

About (V)nemoni)(s

The views and opinions expressed here are purely my own. I am not affiliated with and business or political body. All content is either my own work, items in the public domain, or items used under the terms of Fair Usage for criticism, commentary, or education purposes. (Also; only a fool would take anything posted on here seriously.)
This entry was posted in Atheism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Open response to: “Would you say you’ve kept the Ten Commandments?”

  1. john zande says:

    No. 8 cracks me up. Forget admonishing child molestation, torture, war, animal cruelty and the like, rather take the time to establish a six-day working week 🙂 Very godly!

  2. “By the works of the law, no one will be justified.” Galatians 2:16.

Leave a Reply

